Following is a small sampling of esteemed scientists, economists and other thinkers who have signed the CASSE position on economic growth. More notable signatories are listed here.

Abhijit Banerjee, Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at MIT; 2019 Nobel laureate (with Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer); past president of the Bureau for the Research in the Economic Analysis of Development; co-author, Good Economics for Hard Times.

Maude Barlow, Chairperson of the Council of Canadians; co-founder of the Blue Planet Project; councilor on the World Future Council; winner of the Right Livelihood Award; former Senior Advisor on Water to the United Nations; author of Blue Covenant: The Global Water Crisis and the Coming Battle for the Right to Water, as well as numerous other books.

Wendell Berry, Farmer; author of more than forty books; past fellow of both the Guggenheim Foundation and the Rockefeller Foundation.

Lester Brown, Author or co-author of 54 books, founder of the Worldwatch Institute and the Earth Policy Institute, recipient of 25 honorary degrees, and among other recognitions recent inductee to the Earth Hall of Fame KYOTO.

Herman Daly, Professor of ecological economics at the University of Maryland; cofounder of the International Society for Ecological Economics; author of Beyond Growth and Steady-State Economics; coauthor of For the Common Good; recipient of the Right Livelihood Award.

Jane Goodall, World-renowned primatologist; United Nations Messenger of Peace; Commander of the Order of the British Empire; recipient of the Medal of Tanzania; member of the advisory board of BBC Wildlife magazine.

Carmen Lawrence, Premier of Western Australia (1990-93); Member of Australian House of Representatives (1994-97 and 2000-02); President of the Australian Labor Party (2003); Winthrop Professor, University of Western Australia and Chair, Australian Heritage Council.

Caroline Lucas, Member of British Parliament; former member of European Parliament; leader of the Green Party of England and Wales.

Chris Matthews, Host of Hardball with Chris Matthews (MSNBC) and The Chris Matthews Show (NBC News); author of several best-sellers; regular commentator on NBC’s Today Show.

Professor Lord May of Oxford, Professor at Oxford University, Fellow of Merton College, member of the UK Government’s Climate Change Committee, former President of The Royal Society, former Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Government and Head of the UK Office of Science and Technology, Blue Planet Prize laureate.

Bill McKibben, Global warming activist; author of The End of Nature, Deep Economy, and Eaarth (among other books); founder of

Vandana Shiva, Director of the Research Foundation on Science, Technology, and Ecology; author of Water Wars: Pollution, Profits, and Privatization and Biopiracy: The Plunder of Nature and Knowledge; recipient of the Right Livelihood Award.

David Suzuki, Cofounder of the David Suzuki Foundation; host of television program The Nature of Things; author of The Sacred Balance; Companion of the Order of Canada.

E. O. Wilson, Professor of biology at Harvard University; author of Sociobiology, The Ants, The Diversity of Life, Consilience, and many other books; winner of the U.S. National Medal of Science; Pulitzer Prize winner; Crafoord Prize winner; member of the National Academy of Sciences.